Categories

A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

Links

Conference of Northern California Handweavers       www.cnch.org
– Umbrella organization of guilds in Northern California hosts a biennial fiber conference. Member guilds information, educational opportunities.
– Links to calendar of events
– Quarterly Newsletter
– Announcement of conferences

Handweavers Guild of America:       www.weavespindye.org
Founded in 1969 to inspire creativity and encourage excellence in the fiber arts, the Handweavers Guild of America, Inc., brings together weavers, spinners, dyers, basketmakers, fiber artists and educators. HGA provides educational programs, conferences, and an award-winning quarterly publication, Shuttle Spindle & Dyepot, to its members as it seeks to increase awareness of and appreciation for the fiber arts.

Pacific Textile Arts:       www.pacifictextilearts.org
– Complete list of library books online
– Links to related sites
– Announcement of current exhibit

Mendocino Art Center       www.mendocinoartcenter.org
– List of class offerings
– Info about discounts for locals
– Current exhibits

Gualala Arts Center – www.gualalaarts.org

California Wool Growers Association:    www.woolgrowers.org
– the voice of the California Sheep Industry at the local, regional, state, and national level.
– To provide consumers with safe, quality lamb and wool products

Arts Council of Mendocino County      www.artsmendocino.org
-County Arts Events Calendar
– Membership information

A Loom With a View    http://www.sheilaohara.com/
When I was 10 years old my mom sent me off with two of my sisters to the Josephine D. Randal Junior Museum in San Francisco to take summer art classes. We would ride the streetcar to Market and Castro Streets and climb up the steep hill to the museum. I took drawing, ceramics, jewelry making, and weaving for several summers. I liked all the mediums but there was something about the weaving that seemed to suit me well. The mathematical side of me enjoyed the yarn calculations. The artistic side of me enjoyed the colors and the designing. The tactile side of me enjoyed handling the yarns and fabrics. In high school I continued to take art classes as well as weave at the Junior Museum after school when I was not in softball or volleyball practice.

Stephanie T. Hoppe – Handwoven Rugs and Tapestries       www.stephaniehoppe.com

Rebecca Burgess – Fibershed     www.fibershed.com
Fibershed is a non-profit organization that supports the collaboration of small scale farmers with local artisans to generate a growing and thriving bioregional textile culture that functions hand-in-hand with principles of ecological balance, local economies, and regional organic agriculture.

Threads Of life – Indonesian Textiles     www.threadsoflife.com

FINE ARTS & CRAFTS OF MENDOCINO COUNTY
Mendocino Artists & Artisans  www.MendocinoArtists.com
Mendocino Woodworking  www.MendocinoWoodworking.com
Brian Lee Custom Doors & Sash  www.mendocinodoors.com

FINE CRAFTS THROUGHOUT CALIFORNIA
Baulines Craft Guild  www.BaulinesCraftGuild.org
Janice Rowell Gallery www.janicerowellgallery.com

TEXTILE AND FIBER ARTS & ARTISTS
American Tapestry Alliance  www.americantapestryalliance.org
California Rug Project   www.californiarug.org
Gloria F. Ross Center for Tapestry Studies  www.tapestrycenter.org
Silvia Heyden (Tyndall Galleries)
Sally Jones  www.sallyjones.com
Gunta Stölzl www.guntastolzl.org
Roxy Wells & Tyler Wells  www.roxywells.com

WEAVING & DYEING SUPPLIES
Weaving Southwest (Taos, NM; the source for the yarn I use;  looms, books, gallery)  www.weavingsouthwest.com
ProChemical & Dye (Somerset, MA; the source for the dyes I use)
www.prochemical.com

VISIT MENDOCINO COUNTY
GoMendo.com  www.goMendo.com
Mendocino Search & Travel  www.mendosearch.com
Visit Mendocino www.visitmendocino.com